I haven’t blogged for a while, we’ve been busy!!

Hello, apologies for not blogging sooner, we have been very busy behind the scenes, we had a fantastic August bank holiday BBQ which was fantastically supported by the village, I have never seen so many people in the beer garden, really great to see and thanks to everyone who turned up and supported the pub, I hope you enjoyed the burgers and ribs as much as I did J

So, what have we been doing behind the scenes to keep us so busy?  Well, we’ve refurbished the kitchen, to make it more efficient and much easier to keep spotless, which I have to say Dan, our Head Chef is OCD about and it is spotless.

We’ve re-worked the menus, the pub classics now includes Ham, egg and chips which is proving to be a winner as is the homemade pie, we have added more steak options to the menu and introduced 2 for £20 before 7pm, which is also proving to be popular.  More about the October seasonal menu in a bit.

Dan has negotiated an exclusive deal to use Neasham Grange 28 day aged beef, which is just superb and he has used this to re-work the Sunday lunch offerings, which are proving to be even more popular.  The quality of Neasham Grange beef is clearly obvious and we are the only restaurant within 20 miles to be using it, so come along and try the quality at value for money prices.

We are stocking Theakston’s Lightfoot bitter which is proving to be a really popular ale, not just with our customers but personally I am a huge fan myself too! We also have the seasonal ale from Pennine on – Autumn Amber which again is proving popular so come along and try some before it goes!!

Finally, we have had our first Welcome Group meeting on Tuesday 27th September, we will have another on 25 October, the first one was extremely well supported and I am certain it will prove popular.  We have also launched the Community Information hub, here at The Buck Inn, a massive thankyou to Barbara Scott for all her sterling work in getting this off the ground and I am sure it will provide a well-used central resource for finding out what is going on in Maunby and surrounding villages, as well as further afield in Thirsk and Northallerton, once again Barbara, a heartfelt thanks from me for all your hard work on this valuable and much needed resource.

Now, onto the eagerly awaited October seasonal menu, I have tried all the dishes and I have to say my personal favourite on the starters is the Scallops, the taste is superb and I am certain they will fly – or maybe swim, out of the kitchen, once you’ve tried them.  The mains are more difficult to pick a favourite for me, the venison is great, but as a huge fan of Mackerel, I love that too, and the shellfish risotto is great as well.  For the desserts, well with the exception of the cheeseboard, (who doesn’t like Shepherds Purse?), the caramelised pineapple is for me just great. But you’ll all have to make your own minds up and come and try them for yourselves.

The darts season has started and we had our first home match last night against the Tickle Toby in Northallerton, a 7 – 2 spanking ensured and so a huge well done to the Buck Inn lads and a great start to the season, thanks to all the Toby lads for coming along and making it a great night as well.

 

<a href=“http://www.thebuckinnmaunby.co.uk” target=”_blank”>The Buck Inn Maunby, North Yorkshire</a>

 

One thought on “I haven’t blogged for a while, we’ve been busy!!”

Leave a comment